The first ever Ca Va Cool mix includes some highlights from the writers’ favourite albums, EPs, and singles of 2007. Pretty representative of what was important this year in indie pop, rock, and dance (indie being a sound, attitude, and aesthetic, rather than commercial means). This was a team effort, and you know what they say about herd mentality: it’s never wrong.

01. Spoon – The Underdog
02. Shout Out Louds – Tonight I Have to Leave It
03. Tokyo Police Club – Box
04. The Teenagers – Homecoming
05. The Shins – Australia
06. Radiohead – House of Cards
07. Basia Bulat – I Was a Daughter
08. M.I.A. – Paper Planes
09. The New Pornographers – My Right Versus Yours
10. Panda Bear – Comfy in Nautica
11. The National – Slow Show
12. Miracle Fortress – Maybe Lately
13. Two Hours Traffic – Stuck for the Summer
14. LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends
15. Jens Lekman – The Opposite of Hallelujah
16. Handsome Furs – Handsome Furs Hate This City
17. Feist – Past in Present
18. Justice – D.A.N.C.E.
19. Stars – Window Bird
20. The Cribs – Moving Pictures
21. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – Satan Said Dance
22. Black Kids – I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You
23. Band of Horses – Is There a Ghost
24. Arcade Fire – The Well and the Lighthouse
25. Au Revoir Simone – Sad Song

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

— , December 25, 2007    4 Comments

Ed Banger Records

The French electro label, Ed Banger Records, that was founded just four years ago by Pedro Winter (aka Busy P and Daft Punk’s manager) has only eight signed artists which are all incredible. The favourites of Ed Records, Justice (made up of Frenchmen Xavier de Rosnay and Gaspard Augé), are currently on their first world tour and I was lucky enough to see them live at Metropolis in Montreal this past October.  They also recently won two well-deserved awards at the MTV European Music Awards (Video Star and Best New French Artist). They sound like Jackson 5 mixed with Daft Punk and Metallica? They create a sound that blends electro with a clear rock influence and some of their remixes have a definite 70s pop vibe. My description really isn’t doing them any justice though (no pun intended).

Here are a few of my favourite Justice songs and remixes as well as an intro by Mr. Oizo for Ed Records Vol. 2 that was released in March which features all the artists.

Justice – Phantom, Pt. II
Vicarious Bliss – Theme from Vicarious Bliss (Justice Remix)
Mr. Oizo – Intra
Justice – D.A.N.C.E. (MSTRKRFT Remix)


— , November 17, 2007    5 Comments