This year’s mixtape is ready for you to download. The two disc set is packed with 2008 favourites from all of our writers.

Download: The Ca Va Cool Mixtape 2008 – Disc 1

01. She & Him – Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?
02. Hot Chip – Ready for the Floor
03. Chad VanGaalen – TMNT Mask
04. Bloc Party – Signs
05. Mystery Jets – Young Love feat. Laura Marling
06. TV on the Radio – Family Tree
07. DeVotchKa – Transliterator
08. Wilco w/ Fleet Foxes – I Shall Be Released
09. Wolf Parade – Soldier’s Grin
10. M83 – Graveyard Girl
11. Albert Hammond, Jr. – GfC
12. Vampire Weekend – Walcott
13. Brendan Canning – Churches Under the Stairs
14. Cut Copy – Lights and Music
15. Los Campesinos! – This Is How You Spell…

Download: The Ca Va Cool Mixtape 2008 – Disc 2

01. MGMT – Oracular Spectacular
02. Passion Pit – Sleepyhead
03. Born Ruffians – Little Garçon
04. The Clips – Space Kidz
05. The Radio Dept. – Freddie and the Trojan Horse
06. Bon Iver – Re: Stacks
07. Lykke Li – Dance Dance Dance
08. Portishead – Machine Gun
09. No Age – Eraser
10. Plants and Animals – New Kind of Love
11. Bodies of Water – Gold, Tan, Peach, and Grey
12. Fleet Foxes – Oliver James
13. Deerhunter – Never Stops
14. Santogold – Creator
15. Beast – Ashtray

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

— , December 24, 2008    4 Comments


Hailing from Montreal, Beast is the partnership between Betty Bonifassi and Jean-Phi Goncalves. Together, they’ve fused trip-hop, rock, and part funk to make one of the most unique self titled albums to come out this year. Bonifassi mixes up her powerful deep singing with rap and spoken word. At times it feels like Saul William’s Niggy Tardust, but darker and even more aggressive. I feel like I’m watching them on stage in this huge amphitheater in complete darkness, slightly unnerved but at the same time riveted, unable to pull away.

Beast – Ashtray
Beast – Finger Prints

Duchess Says – Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs

Simply put, this is Yeah Yeah Yeah’s on speed. Screaming guitars, moaning bass, unrivaled vocals. This Montreal-based band is full of dance punk rock that’ll keep you on your toes, your hair looking ravaged, and a few pounds will be lost too from rockin’ out so hard.

Duchess Says – Teneu non neu
Duchess Says – Rabies

Mother Mother – Oh My Heart

Oh My Heart is the sophomore album from this now four piece talent based out of Vancouver. The album is full of surprises, jumping styles like nobody’s business…going from indie, to rock, to pop, to folk, to acoustics and overall just creating this wonderful melange of musical goodness. This album is full of great harmonies and fantastic vocals which lull you into a blissful dream. It makes me want to take a trans Canada road trip with the windows down watching the wheat fields roll by…=)

Mother Mother – Burning Pile
Mother Mother – Sleep Awake

Emiliana Torrini – Me And Armini

Can any artist out of Iceland go wrong? Like, really? Her sweet voice is absolutely beautiful but don’t let that fool you as she can be villainous and menacingly dark too. Her songs range from exuberant positively thump-your-feet joyful to distorted, sad, and introspective. She is lyrically and rhythmically diverse but doesn’t abandon or alienate the listener in the process. And in the end, the gloominess is lifted and you are left feeling a lot lighter than you did before.

Emiliana Torrini – Gun
Emiliana Torrini – Jungle Drum

Asa – Asha

I saved the best for last.

Africa, like the world’s pulse…
Africa, like a troublemaker…
Africa, like a cry of hope ringing in your ears…
Africa, like Asa.

Asa sings about her country, the troubles of Africa: the domestic violence, the wars, the rape, the killing, the poverty. She is the voice for the silenced, the nameless, and the ones who have passed away. Despite this, her songs are filled with empowering truths and soulful lyrics. They are positive, beaming with hope, realistic optimism and prayers for the peace of her people and her country. Her music displays the resiliency, perseverance, and beauty that resonates in Africa despite chains that, in many places, bind freedom and flourishing. Every time I listen to this album I well up inside and am overwhelmed with emotion. I can’t help but pause everything and just listen. Truthfully, this is one of the most heartfelt albums I’ve heard in a very long time.

Asa – Subway
Asa – Eyé àdaba
Asa – Fire on the Mountain

Tags: , ,

— , December 18, 2008    7 Comments